Tags

, , , ,

Yay! I managed to get my hands on the Glitz Bitz ‘n Pieces collection rather early 🙂

This is also the first time I have tried swatching almost an entire collection and boy was it hard work and not the least bit easy :/

The Glitz Bitz ‘n Pieces collection is China Glaze’s Spring 2013 collection and it consists of 6 polishes:

  • Mosaic Madness (Deep blue glitter with black Bitz ’N Pieces)
  • Glitz ‘N Pieces (Deep blue glitter with black Bitz ’N Pieces)
  • Bling It On (Royal Purple glitter with black Bitz ’N Pieces)
  • Scattered & Tattered (Luscious Red glitter with black Bitz ’N Pieces)
  • Graffiti Glitter (Bold emerald green glitter with black Bitz ’N Pieces)
  • Razzle Me, Dazzle Me (Pink glitter with black Bitz ’N Pieces)

I have here 5 of the 6 polishes (I did not get Graffiti Glitter as I am not that fond of green in general :))

2013 - 01 Jan - China Glaze - Spring 2013 - Glitz Bitz ‘n Pieces Bottles

The polishes consist of black hex, string/bar and mini circular glitter as well as coloured hex and mini circular glitter in a clear base.

What I have done is swatched the Glitz Bitz ‘n Pieces collection on its own as well as on a few base colours as I think unless you are looking to go for 5 or 6 layers, it would be almost impossible to get full opacity. The glitter dries matt and a top coat is needed for a smooth touch. Loads of topcoat actually, as even with 2 layers of Seche Vite, it dried slightly bumpy. But then again, that’s the case with most large glitters.

Divider

Razzle Me, Dazzle Me

First up is Razzle Me, Dazzle Me, which is pink glitter with black Bitz ’N Pieces. In the bottle, it looks rose pink, however once out of the bottle, the pink is not as obvious. The pink doesn’t really show up on in the photos, but on my nails, you can see a light rose pink.

2013 - 01 Jan - China Glaze - Spring 2013 - Razzle Me, Dazzle Me2013 - 01 Jan - China Glaze - Spring 2013 - Razzle Me, Dazzle Me 2013 - 01 Jan - China Glaze - Spring 2013 - Razzle Me, Dazzle Me

Divider

Mosaic Madness

Next is Mosaic Madness which has deep blue glitter and black Bitz ’N Pieces. The blue is vibrant and shiny. I really like this colour as it adds a pop to sea spray.

2013 - 01 Jan - China Glaze - Spring 2013 - Mosaic Madness2013 - 01 Jan - China Glaze - Spring 2013 - Mosaic Madness

Divider

Bling it On

Bling it On is the only colour without a base colour because… well…. I forgot to take photos. *Headdesk*. I layered it on OPI’s I Don’t Give a Rotterdam!… only to forget to take photos before removing the combination *tears*I only realised while processing the swatch photos and finding that it was not in my camera :(2013 - 01 Jan - China Glaze - Spring 2013 - Bling it On

Divider

Scattered & Tattered

I didn’t expect to like the colour based on what I saw in the bottle, but on the nail I realised it’s a lot nicer than I thought and it became one of my favourite in the collection.

2013 – 01 Jan – China Glaze – Spring 2013 – Scattered & Tattered

2013 - 01 Jan - China Glaze - Spring 2013 - Scattered & Tattered

Divider

Glitz’N Pieces

I feel that it’s not the most unique of combinations, but it is still really lovely and rather classy. I loved the below combination where Glitz’n pieces was layered on For Audrey

2013 - 01 Jan - China Glaze - Spring 2013 - GlitznPieces

2013 - 01 Jan - China Glaze - Spring 2013 - GlitznPieces

Divider

My Final Thoughts

Honestly, when I first saw the bottles in the press releases at various nail blogs, I was not the least bit impressed, specially since I thought it would be a collection of different coloured versions of Whirled Away from the previous China Glaze release, Cirque de Soleil. However I changed my mind real quick when I saw it swatched on the nail wheel IRL and I came home with 5 of the 6 colours and an empty pocket.

While both GlitzN’ pieces and Razzle Me, Dazzle me are similiar, side by side, the difference is obvious. GlitzN’ Pieces is the more Bling of the 2 ; Razzle Me, Dazzle Me’s more subdued.

Over all, Glitz Bitz ‘n Pieces is a lovely collection. I will definitely be using it often to jazz up my manis 🙂

2013 - 01 Jan - China Glaze - Spring 2013 - Glitz Bitz ‘n Pieces Collection

