Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

OPI's Swimsuit... Nailed It! & Essence's Blue Addicted Bottle Shots

I was feeling rather lazy over the weekend and decided to go for a one coater polish… again 😛

OPI’s Swimsuit… Nailed it! is a shimmery / foil-ish bright blue from the 2011 Miss Universe collection. The formula was really smooth and it took one thin coat for pretty much even coverage! *Likes!* I don’t have anything else quite like this in my polish collection. The fact that the colour is bling on it’s own is a win for me. One coater plus bling, what more can a girl ask for?

OPI's Swimsuit... Nailed It!

While in Dubai last Decemeber, I picked up Essence’s Blue Addicted from a supermarket as I have been hearing about what a close dupe to Deborah Lippmann’s Across the Universe it is and the brand was (then) unavailable in Singapore. It was only after I returned that I heard Watsons, a local drugstore, had been recently bringing in Essence *headdesk*. The brand is currently only available in Takashimaya (Orchard) though.

Blue Addicted is a squishy dark blue jelly with large green, light blue and sliver large hex glitters and small blue hex glitter. The dark blue jelly well…. darkened Swimsuit… Nailed it! when layered. I don’t think it ruined the bling of Swimsuit… Nailed it! though, instead the whole layered look was really pretty, with a glow from within instead of an entire blinged nail.

Essence's Blue Addicted Layered Over OPI's Swimsuit... Nailed It!

Blue Addicted was a little hard to apply. The glitter refused to stick to the nail, and all I seemed to be doing was pushing the glitter around, especially to the edge of the nail. I finally gave up and dabbed on the glitter on, which resulted in a rather bumpy application. I blame it on the lack of dabbing experience :P. The trouble was worth it though. Blue Addicted looked so squishy looking, and just so pretty.

Just for kicks, a super close up of the finished manicure:

Essence's Blue Addicted Layered Over OPI's Swimsuit... Nailed It!

Base Coat – 2 coats of OPI’s Nail Envy
Base Colour – 1 coat of OPI’s Swimsuit… Nailed It!
Layering Colour – 1 coat of Essence’s Blue Addicted
Topcoats – 1 coat of Seche Vite

Over the weekend, I “borrowed” (indefinitely… I hope :P) the BF’s Fujiflim EXR and boy, the photos it churned out were a lot more accurate then my darned EPL1. But then again I am a photography n00b. To be perfectly honest, I do think that not only do I need a proper macro lens, I also actually need to learn how to use my camera if I am going to continue shooting macro. But for now, I shall save my time and money and continue to use “my” EXR 😛

~ Toodles

